My Server of Choice for 2014

I posted some server specs today for one of my servers (yes I have more than one), and it got some attention. Really it’s not my best server.

My reference server of choice this year is my SuperMicro box:

supermicro

* SUPERMICRO SYS-5038D-I Mid-Tower Server
* 32GB Crucial 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM ECC Buffered Ram
* Intel Intel Xeon E3-1270V3 Haswell 3.5GHz
* Seagate Barracuda ST2000DM001 2TB 7200 RPM
* (2x) SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250GB SATA Drives

I load it up with Windows Server 2012 R2 Server (eval) for testing, and it runs like a dream!

I use 1 SSD drive for the OS, and the other for holding most of my virtual machines.

Right now I have about 13-15 Virtual Machines up and running with the Windows 8.1 Enterprise Management Suite. No Problem! https://connect.microsoft.com/pocjumpstart/program8614

VMList

And it’s only using about 55% of the available memory!

Whole package should be less than $1500 on Newegg.

Do you have a better configuration for hosting 10-15 Virtual Machines? let me know!


Update: Forgot to mention my best server:

The best server I ever had was at Microsoft when I worked in the extended “System Center” group

HP Z800
* 96GB of ECC Ram
* (2x) Intel Xeon E5640 (if I recall) processors (each with 4 cores)
* (4x) 300GB Seagate 15k SAS drives ( yes 15000 RPM’s )

The most obscene part was that I had (TWO) of these machines. I will miss them. :^(

WP_20130328_001

Together they would cost about as much as I paid for my last car.

One thought on “My Server of Choice for 2014

  1. Pingback: Running Windows Server on Consumer Intel Chipsets (Z87) | Keith's Consulting Blog

Leave a Reply

