More about MDT 2013 Update 1 Preview

Microsoft released the much anticipated MDT 2013 Update 1 Preview this week, See the announcement here.

Johan Arwidmark has already done an excellent analysis of the latest build, but I though I would pile on as well. :^)

So what issues am I tracking:

  1. Perhaps the biggest missing component is a new task sequence for the new Windows 10 “OS Upgrade”. There have been several blog posts on the subject, so I would have expected to see it by now.
  2. .\Templates\Server.xml has a fix for ImageBuild > 6 in Sysprep, but .\Templates\Client.xml is missing that fix.
  3. Still a lot of XP and Vista legacy code in LTIApply.wsf and LTISysprep.wsf.
  4. Readers of this blog may recall my fix for LTIApply.wsf and split WIM’s. The solution Microsoft has chosen to address Split Wim’s is very similar ;^)
  5. Only minor fixes to ZTIWindowsUpdate.wsf. I have several other updates on my blog.
  6. I have a minor quibble about the new Function GetMajorMinorVersion. It’s not a function, it’s a Sub since it does not return any values. I would have preferred that the function return the Major and Minor OS version as a Float.
  7. I have 20 or so bugs on Connect, and so far I can see only the split wim fix in the Preview.
  8. Although MSFT has fixed several bugs related to the version number jump “6.4” > “10.0” they didn’t fix any build number problems “6000” > “10007”.
  9. I can see that Microsoft added some entries for ServerManager.xml, but they copied the Windows 10 entries from above (see how Roles ID 12 is repeated twice), I wrote a script a while back to programmatically generate the ServerManager.xml file from the OS itself. You can see my changes on MDTEx.

I have been making my own modifications to MDT 2013 Update 1 Preview to match my own build environment, and rather than place the files up on OneDrive, or other share, I have decided it’s time to put them in a proper Version Control System for tracking. The placeholder site for now is at: http://MDTEx.CodePlex.com. These changes are strictly unsupported, and provided only as a starting point for discussions on MDT script changes. :^)

3 thoughts on “More about MDT 2013 Update 1 Preview

  1. Pingback: MDT 2013 Update 1 Preview Release Notes - Microsoft Deployment Toolkit Team Blog - Site Home - TechNet Blogs

  2. Pingback: MDT 2013 Update 1 private – What’s new! | Keith's Consulting Blog

Leave a Reply

