New for the Lab: Intel 750 Series SSD

Got a new toy for the build lab: a new Intel 750 Series SSD, prices were fairly reasonable about 1$/GB, as compared to more recent SATA SSD drives at $.50/GB.

Performance wise it should be much faster than my standard SATA SSD drives.

WP_20150507_19_51_57_Pro

I was a little surprised to see that the retail package included a DVD, I still have a workstation machine with a DVD reader, but the drivers were already on Windows Update, so the disk was not necessary.

I plugged it into my lab build machine with an ASUS Motherboard, and a Z87 chipset. At first, the drive wasn’t detected, so I upgraded the uEFI firmware and that got it working. <whew!> I wasn’t interested in purchasing a new Motherboard, so that was a close call.

I re-ran my reference Hydration System building out 9 WIM images for x86,x64,Server versions of Windows 6.1 (Win7), 6.3 (Win8.1), and 10.

Without any other optimizations, just replacing the drive where the *.vhdx files were during build, most complex image (Windows 7 SP1 x64), went from:

Before: 3 hours 2 minutes
After: 2 hours 38 minutes

About a 13% decrease in time, not bad, still got some more work to do on the machine to make it faster, perhaps moving the OS drive to the new SSD, and other caching :^)

 

 

Leave a Reply

