Turn off CM PowerShell update warnings

So I’ve been working in some strange Configuration Manager environments lately, sometimes they are not always up to date, yea… yea… I know. But they are test environments, so you know.

Problem

One of the problems I have is that when I call some CM PowerShell CmdLets, I get a warning:

erro1.JPG

WARNING: an update to the System Center 2012 Configuration
Manager Cmdlet Library is available. Please go to 
'http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=<something>' 
to download the latest version. Running cmdlet version: 
<someversion> Latest cmdlet version: <someversion>.

Well the output has been driving me nuts, and I finally decided to dig into the problems and find out how to suppress the message.

A Hint

Niall Brady has a blog post on the subject:

How to fix “Warning: An update to the System Center 2012 Configuration Manager Cmdlet Library is available.”

But his recommended fix is to install the latest cmdlet library, well, I suppose I could do that, but I was wondering if there was an easier. way.

Reverse Engineering

I decided to do some reverse Engineering.

  • What dll files to the CM PowerShell cmdlets live?
    get-command get-cmsite | format-list *
    Unfortunately, did not reveal too much.
  • Did a Grep of the dll’s to find the error message, same files.
  • Finally able to track down the function: get-CMCmdletUpdateCheck and a match to the error string
  • Skip the Update? Yes I want to skip the update, that looks like it’s what I want.
    code1.JPG

Well it turns out this was a round about way to the Get-CMCmdletUpdateCheck Cmdlet which does what I was looking for.

Example

Simply run Set-CMCmdletUpdateCheck with -IsUpdateCheckEnabled $False to suppress the output:

Set-CMCmdletUpdateCheck -CurrentUser -IsUpdateCheckEnabled $False

 

code2.JPG

Nice and quiet :^)

 

Leave a Reply

