Fix for Windows 1511 ADK bug

First off, yes, I have a new job working for 1e! I’m super excited, and I should have posted something about it, but I’ve been super busy. My first day on the job was at a customer site in Dallas, and I’ve been on the go ever since, working on this and that (stay tuned :^).

As many of you may have known, there has been a pretty big bug in the Windows 10 Version 1511 ADK, it’s caused all kinds of interop problems with Configuration Manager. Well Microsoft released a fix today! KB3143760. Yea!

Well I opened up KB3143760, and yikes! The instructions are a bit dry. Mount this, patch that, watch out for the data streams!

I needed to patch my local Windows 1511 ADK installation because I’m working on a SCCM+MDT Refresh scenario, and I don’t want to uninstall the 1511 ADK. Perfect timing, if only there was a way to automate this..

Repair-1511ADK.ps1

Here is a link to a PowerShell script I wrote to auto-magically patch your WinPE files!

https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=5407B03614346A99!158500&authkey=!AHWArN5C7FyRPIY&ithint=file%2cps1

This script will:

  • Download the patch (no need to go through the E-Mail process)
  • Take care of all the stream issues (really I don’t use IE/Edge, so no security streams)
  • Auto extract the patch contents
  • Mount the wim file
  • Patch the appropriate dat files
  • Fix the permissions
  • Dismounts the WIM
  • Cleans up all left over files

So, for example, if you wanted to patch all of the WinPE Wim files in the ADK directory (before importing them into SCCM), you can run the following command:

get-childitem 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Assessment and Deployment Kit\*.wim' -recurse | .\Repair-1511ADK.ps1 -verbose

Lately, when programming in PowerShell, I have taken the “write-host considered harmful” rule to heart, so by default, there is *NO* std console output. Instead, I redirect most information output to “verbose”, so if you want to see what is happening in the background, use the -verbose switch.

-k

Hopefully, moving forwards, this will be the *last* time I place a new script up on OneDrive, really I should be moving towards something more… modern… like GitHub.

11 thoughts on “Fix for Windows 1511 ADK bug

  1. Chatting with Keith on this and the following example command-line will process all .wim files found as it recurses through the folder structure.

    get-childitem ‘C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Assessment and Deployment Kit\Windows Preinstallation Environment’ -Recurse *.wim | ForEach-Object { & $PSScriptRoot\Repair-1511ADK.ps1 -verbose $_.FullName }

  2. Keith, is your script hard-coded for 64bit?
    I’m running a 32bit Windows 10 VM but the script downloaded and attempted to apply 490343_ENU_x64_zip.exe.

  3. Sorry, but one more question. I used the script to update the winpe.wim files from ADK1511. But when I try to add them as boot images in SCCM 1511 it fails:

    “You can not import this boot image. Only Finalized boot images are supported.”

    Importing the original, unmodified winpe.wim file works.

    • Yes, that is going to be a problem, it appears that if you modify the stock WinPE boot.wim file, SCCM requires you to add the rest of the required components into the image yourself. Sorry I don’t have a procedure for patching the full wim file.

  4. Pingback: How can I use the Upgrade Task Sequence in System Center Configuration Manager (current branch) ? | just another windows noob ?

Leave a comment